The Moravian mission in Greenland (1733) awakened a great interest in reaching other peoples of the north. In 1752 the Moravians initiated the establishment of a permanent mission in Labrador. The first congregation was Nain (1771), followed by several others along the coast (Hopedale, Hebron, Zoar, Okak, and Makkovik) and two inland congregations (Northwest River and Happy Valley/Goose Bay). Today, only Nain, Hopedale and Makkovik remain on the coast, along with Happy Valley/Goose Bay. Ms. Sarah Jensen the Chair of the Provincial Board, lives in Goose Bay and Caroline Andersen, the Provincial Treasurer lives in Makkovik.

Click on the stories below to learn more about the Moravian Church in Labrador.